Perspective

This past week I was extremely fortunate to fly out to Idaho and spend time with my aunt, who was recently diagnosed with stage 4 cancer.  We witnessed the last day of her whole brain radiation, celebrated her 55th birthday, took walks, ate great food, and laughed till our stomachs ached playing board games.  I savored each moment with her and her kids, my cousins.  It couldn’t have been a more joyous, loving time.

While I was there, the typical ‘book a trip and suddenly every job wants you’ phenomenon took place.  I had to decline 3 auditions, and a callback for a commercial shooting in New York.  But I felt no pang of regret.  At no point did I think of delaying or canceling my trip.  There will be more jobs, more auditions, more callbacks.  But time spent with those you love is limited.

I know other actors who have missed weddings, canceled vacations, and rearranged their entire life around this crazy career.  I don’t think this is advisable.  I recently read Amy Poehler’s book, “Yes, Please” and this line resonated with me:

Treat your career like a bad boyfriend

She ruminates further, saying

“Career is the thing that will not fill you up and will never make you truly whole. Depending on your career is like eating cake for breakfast and wondering why you start crying an hour later.”

Commitment to craft, yes.  Creative your entire life regardless of the work you get? Yes, please.  Living life and loving people, experiences, places, and not depending on a transient career to fill that void?  I couldn’t agree more.  (mostly because I just wrote it)  Do yourself, your spirit, your mind, and all those who love you a favor and stop making this career the reason for your existence.  You are so much more than the jobs you book and the work you do.  Embrace this.

2 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. Well said. Nothing in life is more important than God and family. I love it that you made the time and put out the effort to go see someone so special. You’ll never look back and regret that choice. It reminds me of a story in the Bible that I just read recently. The woman that anointed Jesus with the very expensive perfume. She was extravagant in her love for Jesus. May we all be the same towards Jesus, family, and friends—and even to the unloved and rejected.

  2. I loved this and am reminded of it often in this phase of life. As one of the “my cousins” you spoke of, I felt very blessed that you came and visited our little, humble abode. You embodied Jesus to our family in your willingness to sacrifice and be with the hurting. So thankful for you, and your witness!

Leave a comment