Beauty

I’ve written here before about Beauty, and have been doing some more thinking about it this week.  Recently, I won a court case.  Me!  I actually went before a judge, argued my case against a police officer, and was found not guilty of a stop sign ticket.  I had done months and months of research on fighting this ticket in the lead up to the trial.  I had done a trial by written declaration and lost.  I asked for a new trial, which meant I had to fight my case in person, against a cop, which is almost impossible.  I was just praying that he didn’t show up, and I’d win my case due to his absence.  I’m not naive enough to think that my word would hold any legitimacy against a uniformed cop.  But I did more than my due diligence anyways, because I knew I wasn’t guilty.  I took pictures from his vantage point, I read hundreds of forums, I typed up very long arguments in my favor, and did all I could to be as well prepared as possible.

The day of the trial, over half the cases were dismissed due to a no-show on the cops part.  Of course, my cop was one of 3 that did show up.  And he was testifying against 2 other girls as well.  I was the only person who won my trial that day.  I watched every single person go up and argue their case (some fairly well), only to have the judge be quite sympathetic, and perhaps even believing of their argument, but still finding them guilty.  The clincher?  My cop had video that was shown to the judge of his pursuit and handing out of my ticket.  The judge agreed with me that the cop not only pulled me over without really seeing if I didn’t stop, but also pointed out that the cop started pursuing me before I ever even got to the limit line.  Shame on him.  I was deemed not guilty and will receive a refund of my $268 bail soon.  I walked out of that courthouse with my head held high, and exclaimed to the pedestrian I passed “I won my trial!  Hallelujah!”  I was on cloud nine the rest of the day, and still kind of am.

When I mentioned that I won a traffic court trial to an out of state friend recently, their response was “And I’m sure it had nothing to do with how you looked that day- all made up and pretty, right?”  I mumbled something about having just come from an audition, so I was dressed nicely and my hair was curled, though I would have done that even if I hadn’t been to an audition.  I believe you should look your best at court to show respect.  But as I thought about this more, it grated on me.  I won’t be that person who 1. denies that they’re a bit easy on the eyes and that no one has ever treated them nicely because of that; nor 2. the person who thinks they’re so pretty that they should be treated differently.  I’m just me.  And I won that ticket fair and square.  It had nothing to do with my hair, my dress, my makeup, whatever.  And when I thought about the other ladies who lost their trials that day, I realized I was not the prettiest gal in the room.  Further, in L.A., I rarely am.

This is something few people understand who don’t live in Los Angeles.  There are more beautiful, stunning and perfect-looking people per capita than any other place on Earth.  Your average grocery store checker looks like a model in a magazine spread.  Moms look like they have 1% body fat, have perfect hair and skin and also happen to be accomplished classical musicians.  It’s just the nature of this place.  Because beauty is everything here, it means nothing.  Brings new meaning to the girl who told me at a networking event “you’re texas pretty, but only L.A. sorta-cute”.

So, if you’re convinced that you’re so beautiful that you’ll definitely make it in Hollywood, let me assure you, it means less than you think.  And if you are concerned you aren’t beautiful enough, let me assure you, it means less than you think.  Character actors (which is just a phrase for normal looking people) get far more work than pretty people out here.  Work with what you have.

Leave a comment