When it rains…

I experienced something these past 2 weeks that I’ve never experienced thus far in my 10 years in this business.  A veritable hailstorm of opportunity.  2 weeks ago I had no less than TEN auditions within the week.  Each Wednesday there have been 3 auditions, most other days held 2.  Throughout this time, there were also bookings and callbacks.  It was exhausting but also exhilarating.  There were lots of Subway bathroom changes, hair and makeup changes, and more driving than I’ve done in a long while.

It seems that this week has slowed down some, perhaps proving what I surmised- it just happened to be an extremely busy 2 weeks for advertising.  During these 2 weeks, there was a job I booked in particular that shot in Redondo Beach.  That’s really far.  I also received 2 auditions for that day.  I really didn’t feel like it and after working on a gig all day the last thing I felt like doing was auditioning.  But I packed my change of clothes anyways and made it to both of them.  I feel like when opportunity arises you have to strike it with all you’ve got (within reason, of course).  Because there will be plenty of dead weeks and months where the crickets are chirping and you are working on everything but acting because it’s a dry spell.  During the rainy season, be prepared and ready to work.  Because you may just be driving from Santa Monica to Burbank to Central L.A. and changing in a Ralphs restroom, trying to wrap your mind around this life that you get to live and the opportunities you’re being blessed with.  Soak in the moment.  It goes all too soon.

Leave a comment