Mastery

I’ve just finished this book by Robert Greene entitled Mastery.  I found it recommended through a series of great articles on The Art of Manliness and decided that it might help me look at my vocation in a clearer light.  Some of these ideas have been culminating since I read an essay by Dorothy Sayers called “Why Work” that highlights the importance of being the best at what you do and loving what you do because it is your calling, not your job.  (note- I highly recommend the Sayers essay, and the Greene book had some inspiring points, and quite a few things that I’ll be ruminating about for some time, but a lot of the book I found insipid and dull)

I’ve been struggling with these ideas because with acting, so much of your time is spent waiting for an opportunity.  Sure, you can be the most wonderful actor in the world and highly dedicated to excellence, but until someone hires you (which seems in L.A. to be 1000% less often than in Dallas), no one will see that excellence.

Now, I myself fully support making your own work, as evidenced by my self-producing forays here.  This enables you some more control in the type of roles and the timing of work.  But sometimes you’re looking for validation that you’re on the right track.  That you’re pursuing something you’re good at and getting better with time.  Hiring yourself doesn’t quite provide you with that little nod that says “keep doing what you’re doing”.

In a place like L.A., where even the most talented are passed over and gaining employment seems a crapshoot in which the odds are rarely in anyone’s favor, I think one has to have a shift in focus.  Coincidentally, this shift in focus will help you maintain that optimism that Hollywood would love to swallow whole.

I posit that we focus on the work.  Not obtaining the work. 

If the goal is to do what you love, then we should do just that.  Create.  Act.  Inspire.  Be inspired.

Let’s take a practical look at what each focus entails:

Work

  • Create characters, stories, conflicting emotions
  • Read and become engrossed in a world
  • Create a world for someone to experience
  • Watch plays, movies, youtube videos, operas and be inspired

Obtaining work

  • send postcards to CD’s congratulating them on picking up a series
  • do drop offs
  • go to SAG CAP workshops
  • network at events

I’m not going to argue the validity of spending time on any of these things, because I’m sure we can all agree that the less desirable parts of our work still must be completed.  If you were to ask an actor why they act, I highly doubt they’d list any of the tasks of obtaining work.  It would be centered on the work.

I’m going to try an experiment.  Shifting my focus to the work and the creation and the inspiration.  Being the best at what I love.  And not making that shift so that I can get more work.  Making the shift because it’s what I love to do.  An end in and of itself.  Wanna join me?

Leave a comment