Getting in shape

So…..

I MADE THE TEAM!!!!!

I am so pumped to be a part of Live on Fire, Whitefire Theatre’s livestreamed improv show.  We’ll be performing every Friday night in October.  I’ve been to 2 rehearsals so far, and I can say, these are some quality improvisers.  I’ve been on teams with not great improvisers.  It’s a drain.  Being on a team with people who take comedy as seriously as I do is refreshing, and, quite honestly, makes me get my butt in gear to work hard at improving!

The format is short form improv, which is not my forte nor my preference.  I’ve been doing long form for years so it’s been an adjustment to try and retrain my brain for shorter scenes, quicker jokes, faster one liners.  I’ve gotta say, I’m enjoying it!  There’s fun games, the players are great, and I’m just pumping away my comedy squats to get in shape.

As I mentioned before, it is a muscle that has to be kept in shape.  And I am flabby.  But you know how you come back from the gym after a hiatus and it burns and is uncomfortable to lift those 20 lbs, and you get frustrated because you used to be able to lift 40 with no problem?  Then, at the end of the workout, and then the next and the next, you start to feel your muscles responding to the routine and slowly remembering what it felt like and how they’re supposed to act?  It’s like that.  I feel awkward, but not discouraged.  I know I can do this, I just need to get some more reps in.

We’re doing musical improv too, which makes my heart sing.  That’s one area I feel like I can shine, though it’s slightly flabby as well (but not as out of shape as regular short form).  All this to say, I’m getting in shape.  And it feels great.  I can’t wait to see how it turns out and to enjoy the fun journey along the way!

 

One thought on “Getting in shape

  1. Way to go Brittany!  Congrats and hope it’s as exciting and fun as anticipated.  : ) “Do all the good you can, by all the means you can, in all the ways you can, in all the places you can, at all the times you can, to all the people you can, as long as you ever can.” John Wesley

      

    From: thethriftyactor To: thebee0100@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, September 25, 2017 10:15 AM Subject: [New post] Getting in shape #yiv6877369667 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv6877369667 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv6877369667 a.yiv6877369667primaryactionlink:link, #yiv6877369667 a.yiv6877369667primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv6877369667 a.yiv6877369667primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv6877369667 a.yiv6877369667primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv6877369667 WordPress.com | thethriftyactor posted: “So…..I MADE THE TEAM!!!!!I am so pumped to be a part of Live on Fire, Whitefire Theatre’s livestreamed improv show.  We’ll be performing every Friday night in October.  I’ve been to 2 rehearsals so far, and I can say, these are some quality improvis” | |

Leave a Reply

