Nerves

I have an audition for an improv group in an hour.  I’ve had butterflies since I woke up this morning, because, unlike most other types of auditions, I can’t prepare material.  When I can prepare material, I feel confident because I know I put the work in.  With improv?  It’s show up, try to support your partner (who will be a complete stranger) and try to be as loose as possible.  There is no way of knowing if my group will be filled with bad improvisers.  There is no way of knowing if I will be one of those bad improvisers.

I’m also nervous because ever since parting ways with Roadies, my musical improv team, last September, I haven’t improvised.  I have no team, I have no theatre home.  And believe me when I tell you that improvisation needs to be practiced or you will be RUSTY.  I feel like 70 year old galvanized pipe right now.  (In case you don’t get metal references, that would be rusty)

And, honestly, I want to be on stage improvising again.  Not as badly as I want to do a musical, but I like that fear and trepidation that inevitably comes with a blank slate and a suggestion from the audience.  It’s live, it’s changing, and there is a great chance of failure.  Who wouldn’t want to dive in? : )

I’m doing what I can on my end- vocalizing, warming up over the phone with an old teammate, and trying to keep my eyes open to the funny around me- like the plumbing van across the street that says “If your toilet’s acting silly, call Billy”.  Bet he’s regretting that wraparound.  I went to the gym, so my body’s warmed up, so now all I can do is breathe, stay loose and be available to whatever is thrown at me.  Well, that, and always have a secret gun.

One thought on “Nerves

  1. Hope this went well.  IMO you are one of the BEST!!!! “Do all the good you can, by all the means you can, in all the ways you can, in all the places you can, at all the times you can, to all the people you can, as long as you ever can.” John Wesley

      

    From: thethriftyactor To: thebee0100@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, September 14, 2017 1:55 PM Subject: [New post] Nerves #yiv0760285299 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv0760285299 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv0760285299 a.yiv0760285299primaryactionlink:link, #yiv0760285299 a.yiv0760285299primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv0760285299 a.yiv0760285299primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv0760285299 a.yiv0760285299primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv0760285299 WordPress.com | thethriftyactor posted: “I have an audition for an improv group in an hour.  I’ve had butterflies since I woke up this morning, because, unlike most other types of auditions, I can’t prepare material.  When I can prepare material, I feel confident because I know I put the work ” | |

Leave a Reply

